[Tobacco Blends] CAO: Eileen’s Dream

IMG_1177Occasionally when I hear of something reminiscent of things past, I tend to pass a little judgement. Whether that be a yay or a nay…or even, in this case, a particular taste and aroma. So, naturally, when I saw that CAO had a blend of pipe tobacco out that was named after one of my favorite tinned petite cigars, Eileen’s Dream…well…let’s just say that I was both ecstatic and already certain of how it would taste.

When the tin arrived, I popped it open without hesitation. My nostrils were hit with a delicious aroma. Hints of a light chocolate and vanilla were prevalent…almost creamy in nature. The tobacco itself wasn’t too moist nor too dry. As is my normal regime, I let some sit out for a bit to get a bit more to my liking. It didn’t take long…possibly 20 minutes at most.

I loaded up my Peterson Aran 268, a ‘Zulu’ shaped pipe, licking my lips in anticipation. With a flick of a match, we were off. It took to light with relative ease and after the false light, there was no turning back.

Like I stated earlier…I had a very particular taste in mind. This was supposed to be Eileen’s Dream  after all. However…this blend…is not the Eileen’s Dream that I remember. In fact, it is almost entirely something different. Instead it was a little something familiar, but a totally new take and it was surprisingly wonderful!

I could pick up the irish cream well enough while the vanilla and (white) chocolate played on my tongue. Unlike most aromatics that I’ve tried in the past, this was a relatively light smoke. It wasn’t thick and ‘chewy,’ but rather airy instead. It also stayed lit with little hassle so I was able to sip and enjoy the taste rather than struggle with keeping the bowl going. The tobacco did burn a little on the warm side, but not once did it get too hot. With a little self control I was able to slow down my puffing as to not be quite so greedy.

The smoke itself was cool and not once did I suffer from the dreaded tongue bite! It was great. Flavorful without being too over-the-top. The casings used in this blend play well off one another, and although not complex in the normal sense of the word, it was still enjoyable attempting to discern the additives as they were sipped.

All-in-all, if you’re a fan of vanilla and the different variations thereof, this blend should be enough to sate your appetite. Again, it was a pleasant surprise and although not everyone has tasted their cigarillos of the same name, this version of Eileen’s Dream is bound to be a favorite. I know I’ll most likely keep some around, although not in a regular rotation. This is, however, a pleasant aromatic for those new, or newer, to the hobby to their feet wet and enjoy a delightful smoke.

Leave a comment