[Pipes] Nording Point Clear Freehand

IMG_1169

I have been eyeing pieces of Erik Nording’s work for years, and I do mean years! I’ve admired his freehand carving abilities and how everything seems to flow organically and in some cases, even waxing-like in appearance.

IMG_1168Last Thursday (2014-02-13), thanks to the other half in my life, that need for one of his pipes became a reality as a slightly early Valentine’s gift. Upon hearing the tell-tale thunk and knock at the door of the local UPS driver, I ran expectantly to retrieve my package from Smoking Pipes. After fishing out a few accessories and tins from the box, my hands shook from anticipation as I dug this Nording Point Clear Freehand from its container.

IMG_1170The first thing I noticed was its apparent heft, but after gripping it and toying with it, it became obvious it was much light than it appeared. The chamber was huge compared to what I am used to. I immediately applied a rubber nib, as I do prefer to clench my pipes between my teeth.

The work on this style of pipe I find fascinating. It’s rather organic and almost mushroom-like in appearance. The ridges and grooves provide plenty of texture and days later I still find myself fiddling with it as I smoke.

IMG_1172As stated…it is a little larger in the chamber and it’s taking me a little to get used to. I’m used to chambers roughly 3/4 its size, but I am managing to get the knack for packing it to where it burns how it should. I still wind up with a little bit of moisture accumulation at the bottom, but part of that is a design characteristic, as most Danish pipes are made to allow for the accumulation condensation (and saliva) to drain back into the bottom of the bowl. I’ve found I can accommodate for a dryer finishing smoke by using a pipe cleaner off and on, even without hearing a gurgle.

IMG_1171Now, several smokes in, it burns like a dream. It’s got enough to the chamber walls to only get warm and since I’m a puffer, it’s a nice change. All and all, for a moderately priced pipe it’s a great addition to my small, but growing, collection.

Leave a comment